Mississippi First-Offense DUI Attorney
Aggressive Defense for First-Time DUI Offenders
If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) for the first time, you have probably already realized the gravity of your situation. Still, it often comes as a shock.
A first offense can have serious consequences—even before conviction. Don’t wait to speak to a DUI defense lawyer. Acting fast to fight back against charges could make a huge difference in the outcome of your case. Save yourself time, money, and the headache that comes with these charges. Our experienced team at Miller Law Offices stands ready to help and defend you!
What Are the Penalties for First-Offense DUI?
The penalties for a DUI conviction depend heavily on the circumstances of the charge. Still, the penalties for even a basic first offense can be severe.
A first-time DUI offense could bring the following penalties:
- Fines between $250 and $1,000
- Jail time of up to 48 hours
- License suspended for 90 days
Reducing the Penalty for a First-Offense DUI
It may be possible to avoid first-offense DUI penalties by agreeing to:
- Complete the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program (MASEP)
- Install a breathalyzer in your vehicle, known as an ignition interlock device (IID)
- Pay court-ordered fines and some fees
This alternative sentencing is known as “non-adjudicated resolution.” It is not the same as being convicted.
Please note: If you are later charged with another DUI, a non-adjudication will then be considered the same as a conviction. That means the next charge would still be handled as a second-offense DUI.
How to Get Out of a DUI First Offense in Mississippi
Even if your blood alcohol content (BAC) tested high or you feel like the evidence against you is incriminating, we want you to know that it is possible to beat a DUI. There are ways to challenge blood tests, breath tests, and even field sobriety tests.
Keith Miller, our lead attorney, is certified in the use of the Intoxilyzer 8000, the official device that Mississippi law enforcement uses for DUI testing. He understands the flaws and the inaccuracies of DUI testing and the many ways to effectively undermine test results. We are ready to use this knowledge to your advantage.
Other defenses for a DUI first offense include:
- Your right to an attorney was violated: An example would be if you weren’t allowed to speak with your lawyer while being questioned/tested by law enforcement.
- You were pulled over illegally: A police officer needs to have a valid reason to pull you over. In fact, the constitution gives you freedom from unreasonable searches and seizures.
Our goal is to minimize the impact that these charges will have on your future.This may involve reducing your charges, getting an acquittal, or successfully having the charges dismissed.
Save Your License—Book a Free Consultation
At the Miller Law Offices, we understand how frightening being arrested for a DUI is, whether it is your first, second, or third time.
Our Mississippi first-offense DUI attorney can walk you through your charges, help you navigate the courts, and work hard to protect your future. You don't have to fight this alone. Our skilled criminal defense team will be with you every step of the way.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a First-Offense DUI a Misdemeanor or Felony?
Most first DUI offenses are charged as misdemeanors in Mississippi. However, if your first offense is also an aggravated DUI—think hit-and-run DUIs and crashes that injure others—that charge could be escalated to a felony DUI.
In some cases, the prosecution may level two charges against the accused: one for the DUI itself and another for the other offense (hit and run, vehicular manslaughter, etc.).
How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in Mississippi?
If convicted, DUI first offense will stay on your criminal record until you get it expunged. Additionally, a first offense will remain on your driving record for 5 years.
Can I Get My DUI Expunged in Mississippi?
Having a conviction erased from your criminal record is called “expungement.” Under HB 412, it is now possible to get a DUI expunged five years after conviction.
Filing for expungement is a tough process with many requirements, even for a first offense. Our team at the Miller Law Offices can go over whether you qualify in a free consultation. If so, we can help you file for expungement and get your life back on track.
Offers Free Initial Case Evaluations
High-Powered & Well-Versed Litigator
Proven Track Record of Success
Certified to Use an Intoxilyzer 8000
Handled over 10,000 Misdemeanor Cases
Over 20 Years of Legal Experience