DUI Penalties Defending Your Future & Reputation

Mississippi DUI Penalty Defense Attorney

We’ll Fight to Reduce Your DUI Penalty

After being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), you likely have a number of questions and concerns, such as what types of penalties you will be facing. To reduce drunk driving, the state of Mississippi has become increasingly tough on those convicted of DUI.

At the Miller Law Offices, we will fight to protect you from these harsh penalties. Let us advocate for you!

Contact our Mississippi lawyer online to learn more about how we can help. Your consultation is free!

What to Expect After a DUI in Mississippi

Although you may not think that DUI charges are very serious, a conviction can affect your life in several ways:

  • Jail or prison time
  • License suspension or revocation
  • Financial hardship
  • Difficulty finding work
  • Points on your driver’s license
  • Permanent criminal record

The penalties for a DUI become increasingly severe after each conviction. (The details can be found in HB 412.) Here’s a brief overview of what you can expect if convicted of a first, second, or third offense.

First DUI Offense Penalties

A first DUI offense could result in the following:

  • Up to 48 hours in jail
  • Between $250 and $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 90 days
  • Mandatory alcohol safety education program

Learn more about what to expect after your first DUI here.

Multiple DUI Offense Penalties

A second DUI offense within five years will bring the following penalties:

  • Imprisonment for anywhere between five days and one year
  • Community service (10 days to one year)
  • Between $600 and $1,500 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Mandatory alcohol education classes

If convicted of a third DUI offense in the same five-year period, which is a felony charge, you could face:

  • One to five years in jail or prison, as determined by the county judge
  • Fines from $2,000 to $5,000
  • License suspension for two years

Once your driver’s license is restored after a third offense, you will need to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle for another three years. This is a breathalyzer that you will need to breathe into every time you start your car. You will also need to breathe into it periodically to keep the car running.

Act Fast to Protect Your Rights

There may be inconclusive evidence in the blood and breath test, field sobriety tests, or other circumstances that could be used to mount a strong defense. Talk to an experienced attorney at the Miller Law Offices to learn more about DUI penalties, laws, and potential defenses.

Our knowledgeable and skilled team is prepared to defend your rights aggressively. We have over 20 years of legal experience, during which time we have handled over 10,000 cases. Our lead attorney is a certified DUI defense specialist who has proven his abilities as a high-powered litigator. When your back is up against the wall, reach out to us for help.

Contact us today at 888-424-8132 to schedule a FREE case evaluation!

What Sets Keith Miller Apart?

  • Offers Free Initial Case Evaluations
  • High-Powered & Well-Versed Litigator
  • Proven Track Record of Success
  • Certified to Use an Intoxilyzer 8000
  • Handled over 10,000 Misdemeanor Cases
  • Over 20 Years of Legal Experience

Accolades

  • NCDD
  • Intoxilyzer 8000
/